PMCT News & Events

This is some blog description about this site

Survey - Calling all Interns, RMOs and Registrars

The THS genuinely want your honest feedback to work out how best to address issues that everyone is experiencing. You have until the end of July 2019 to have your say.

The Separation (Discharge) Summaries process is under active review and your opinion is vital to ensure that the system works int he best interests of all: patients, doctors and the system.

Here is a link to a short anonymous survey for doctors - Interns, RMOs and Registrars.

Please be as detailed as possible about barriers and possible enablers - responses will be aggregated, not individualised. Your feedback will help your colleagues statewide and ultimately will help improve clinical handover and hence patient safety.

At the end of the survey there is the opportunity to identify yourself if you would like to be part of focussed work. However, if you prefer you may emial the GP liaison officer(s) in your area to nominate yourself.

To proceed please clink here

Dr Annette Barratt and Dr Liz Webber, GP liaison officers (joint position) on behalf of the Statewide Separation Summary Policy Implementation Committee

Continue reading
576 Hits

WINNER - CPMEC Junior Doctor of the Year Award (TAS)

PMCT congratulates Dr Laura Turner (RHH) who is the Tasmanian winner of the CPMEC 2018 Junior Doctor of the Year Award. Each year the Confederation of Postgraduate Medical Education Councils (CPMEC) asks states and territories to nominate a PGY1 or PGY2 junior doctor for this national annual award and Laura won this category for Tasmania. 

Laura Turner JMO Award Presentation

Pictured here, Sona Lewincamp (RHH MEA) and A/Prof Terry Brown (Chair PMCT Management Committee) presenting the award to Dr Laura Turner.

Continue reading
1208 Hits

2018 PMCT Newsletter

Please read the latest edition of the PMCT newsletter.

This edition highlights some of the work done over the past 12 months with an emphasis on several exciting developments in educational and accreditation activities. We also welcome several new staff to PMCT.

Finally, we discuss several national issues of importance to prevocational medical education.

Continue reading
1425 Hits

PMCT Accreditation Forum 10 August 2018

PMCT is convening a one day Accreditaion Forum in Hobart on Friday 10th August to provide key stakeholders within Tasmania the opportunity to explore issues with respect to prevocational accreditation. 

The forum will be facilitated by Dr Jo Bernand, a medical consultant with extensive medical management experience. Jo has been involved in accreditation since 2000 and during 2014 participated on the Accreditation and Standards Review Committee. Her involvement with prevocational and college accreditation systems has led to a comprehensive knowledge and understanding of accreditation principles and practices. Ms Debbie Paltridge, a medical education consultant who was involved in the development of the new National Intern Training Standards will co-facilitate the forum. 

The forum will be of particular interest and relevance to medical administrators, medical workforce, clinicians and members of PMCT Committees. Please contact Lynn Hemmings for further information and to register your interest.


Continue reading
1044 Hits

Success - Registrar professional development days

The transition to the role of registrar can be challenging, with a whole series of non-technical skills which have to be acquired, such as Supervision and Delegation, Conflict Resolution etc, yet often no formal training in these skills. The Confederation of Postgraduate Medical Education Councils (CPMEC) have developed a high-quality Professional Development for Registrars course, which has now been delivered in most states and territories and is endorsed by several colleges.

Over the past several years, PMCT has run the course in Hobart on a number of occasions, but this year we were very pleased to be able to deliver the course in Launceston and Burnie for the first time. The response was very favourable, with 12 registrars attending at each site, and overwhelmingly positive feedback. We look forward to offering the course in Hobart later this year.

Continue reading
612 Hits

NWRH 2017 JMO of the Year Award

Recipients of the 2017 NWRH JMO of the Year Awards are:

  • Intern of the Year Award = Dr Arthur Lee
  • RMO of the Year Award = Dr Bradley Williams, pictured here with Dr Deb Wilson

Both of these award winners were UTAS RCS graduates from the North West, and Dr Bradley Williams also completed his internship year at NWRH.  He has now working in a NW GP clinic, so very much is the “epitome” of the rural focus/rural GPs.

2017 NWRH Intern of the Year  2017 NWRH RMO of the Year


Continue reading
1052 Hits

RHH 2017 JMO of the Year Awards

RHH 2017 JMO of the Year Awards

Recipients of the 2017 RHH JMO of the Year Awards are:

  • Intern of the Year Award (tie) = Dr Laura Turner and Dr Clive Reekie
  • RMO of the Year Award = Dr Jess Beechey
  • Registrar of the Year Award = Dr Sunit Sarka

 2017 Intern and Registrar of the Year

Continue reading
967 Hits

Rural GP Intern Terms

In 2017 Ochre Health was successful in their application for five additional intern positions in the Tasmanian Health Service (THS) to be funded by the Rural Junior Doctor Training Innovation Fund. The funding provides an opportunity for interns in Tasmania to undertake a term in General Practice during their intern year in addition to hospital terms. The GP terms were accredited by PMCT as being suitable for interns and during 2018 twenty interns will rotate to practices in King Island, Queenstown, Huonville, St Helens and Flinders Island. The program aims to provide interns with training and experience in a rural primary care setting which may influence future career decisions and enhance recruitment in rural areas.

Click on each link below to read the articles from The Advocate and The Mercury

The Advocate article

The Mercury article

Continue reading
953 Hits

JMO of the Year Awards

Recipients of the 2016 JMO of the Year Awards are:


  • Intern of the Year Award: Jo Hudson
  • Resident of the Year Award: Milos Nikolic
  • Registrar of the Year Award: Prue Hogg

2016 Intern Reg RMO of the Year

Continue reading
1871 Hits

2014 CPMEC - National Clinical Educator of the Year Award

At the 2014 National Forum in New South Wales for Prevocational Medical Education, Dr Lynn Hemmings was awarded the 2014 Clinical Educator of the Year. This is the first time that the award has been granted to a recipient from Tasmania and is a great honour for Dr Lynn Hemmings and for PMCT as a whole.

Continue reading
2375 Hits